My Plush post


UPDATE: see my post about the upcoming Plushy shows!!!!😀

Evgeni Plushenko, Johnny Weir, Irina Slutskaya in Snow King

PS – after I wrote this post, I saw this video: These days everybody who’s following the Winter Olympic Games at Sochi, and more specifically the figure skating competitions, have inevitably been talking about Russian skater Evgeni Plushenko. After the Vancouver Olympics I wrote a post on him because back then I was revolted that he didn’t get the gold. It was unfair (and I wasn’t the only one who thought so!), and I still haven’t changed my mind about that. In a few years, who’s going to know who Lysa…what was his name, again?? Oh yeah, we never heard of him much before those Olympics, and we won’t hear much again, because he’s the greatest skater, really😉 (not :P) Anyway, today, 4 years later, here I am, writing again on Plushy, and again it’s unfair that he didn’t get a medal in the individual male competition – but this time it was nobody’s fault, which is a relief. Also, he DID get a gold medal this time, doesn’t matter if it was a team medal because he got the 1st place🙂 Check it out: Patinação artística: Confira a estreia de Evgeny Plyushchenko | Sochi 2014 | band.com.br Russo Evgeni Plushenko faz apresentação na patinação por equipes | Sochi 2014 | band.com.br Captura de Tela 2014-02-14 às 01.22.29 It’s past midnight and I’m tired, so I won’t be writing too much – maybe afterwards I’ll edit the post and write much more, though😉 hahahahah All I have to say right now is that, yes, we felt somewhat frustrated when we saw him leaving the ice, but more than that, we felt very concerned about his back. I mean, it’s not just ANY injury, it’s his spine, he has 4 screws there! Extremely dangerous to force anything in this situation… I’m sure nobody was more frustrated than himself. However, he was wise enough to stop pushing himself beyond the limits of his body, just to try to beat another record or try another medal. He knew all those people were watching him, his parents, his son, his wife, his coach, his choreographer, his friend (violinist Edvin Marton) and all his fans, and yet decided to quit. That must have been a very very tough decision to make, especially considering it was meant to be his goodbye to competitions. I’m very proud of him for having tried anyway, he was in pain since days ago and yet kept practicing and today he went to the warmups and I’m sure he would have skated if he thought it was possible without damage. Ok, I’m done talking now😛 I’ll just post a few articles that I’ve seen these days (TONS of them were posted on Facebook): A fan (Angela Nicole Rabatin) wrote: “I don’t think any of us knew exactly what he was risking by doing all of this… I’ve been saying for years that he was risking his health far too much… but I couldn’t help admiring his fighting spirit, his determination to do whatever it took to make his country proud and innovate his sport. I was relieved in 2005 when he got surgery, but I didn’t hear what kind it was until later that year, and then realized he STILL had the torn meniscus, and continued to skate with it until 2007! Naturally that caused him to have MORE problems with his knee in 2009-2010, but American media didn’t report that. And still, I did my duties as a fan and encouraged him, cheered him on, and I think I got swept up with the fantasy that he was still all right after all these years of beating his body up so much. He put himself in danger for his sport, for his country, and for us… I think we should all do something special for him to acknowledge that”. http://www.healthylivingmagazine.us/Articles/398/ (“evgeny plushenko’s olympic formula: 2 quads+8 triples+4 spine bolts+12 surgeries= 4.5 min free program to watch – 2 times Olympic champion 4 times Olympic medalist 3 times World champion 7 times European champion 10 times Russian Nationals champion”) http://www.nbcolympics.com/news/yevgeny-plushenko-revered-and-divisive-ends-legendary-career “He was doing things that no one had really seen before,” said Paul Wylie, the 1992 Olympic silver medalist. “He was doing a Beillmann when he was 15 and just whipping off triple Axels and starting the quad so early. He was a wunderkind. “If you describe him in one word, it’s ‘legendary,’” said 1998 Olympic champion Tara Lipinski, an analyst for NBC. “He’s always been one of the best. He has reached that status, particularly with that short program in the team event, which was so superb. We always saw him perform under pressure and land the big jumps; he’s in a category of greatness no doubt.” http://www.opinionspost.com/keeping-plushenko-dare/ “(…) another figure skater, Gillis Grafström of Sweden, won four medals in four different Olympics in a row, 3 gold and 1 silver but figure skating then was far from the level it has reached in the past three decades, during which many more jumps were added to athletes’ routines and quadruples started to become the main goal for those who wanted to be on top. The first skater to land a quadruple jump was the Canadian Kurt Browning in 1988, for the record. Let’s go back to the Russian superstar Plushenko. What’s the big deal, you might think? Well… The thing is that Evgeni Plushenko is 31 years old. In figure skating it means that one who is considered a young man in the real world is kind of a Fred Flintstone among athletes. A male figure skater is considered old when he turns 25; Plushenko participate in his third Olympics at the age of 27, winning the silver medal. Or, as he may say, losing the gold. Therefore, not enough to give up yet. When he took a break after his victory in Turin 2006, the level of mens competitions suffered a sort of devolution due to the absence of athletes who, like Plushenko or 2002 Olympic champion Alexei Yagudin, were capable of landing this most difficult jump. Without these men around, competitors didn’t feel the need to perform quads and things seemed to be go backwards instead of improving. All of this happened until Plushenko decided to return to the ice in Vancouver. At that time the judging system apparently placed more emphasis the clean and absolute perfection of elements instead of difficulty. Spins, transitions, and preparation before a jump became the main goals for skaters who began to focus on these elements instead of reaching new jumping records. So, as a result, Lysacek’s clean performance won the gold”. http://www.theglobeandmail.com/sports/olympics/wild-card-plushenko-emerges-as-another-threat-to-chans-golden-dreams/article16845352/ “Competing in his fourth Games, the 31-year-old stepped on the ice during the figure-skating team event and showed the present-day Plushenko hasn’t lost any ground to the one who racked up a gold and two silver medals at previous Olympics. From the moment the towering Russian landed his first quadruple jump, seemingly soaring higher in the air than any other skater in the building – and doing it almost with a smirk on his face – it became a problem for Canada’s Patrick Chan, and all the other skaters. “People ask me, ‘How are you? How do you feel?’” Plushenko joked. “I am still alive.” It was an understatement of sorts. Alive and kicking. Alive and jumping.” http://www.nydailynews.com/…/russian-hero-plushenko… “I said to myself, ‘You must skate, you must skate,'” said Plushenko, who won the silver medal in 2010, behind Evan Lysacek. “But on the triple lutz in warmup, I stepped out and it felt like knife. The second triple flip I did not feel my right leg.” And so it was over, all done for an expressive, balletic skater who had been working with his coach, Alexei Mishin, since the age of 11. Plushenko had a sore back coming into the team competition, performing through the injury to share in that gold medal. He aggravated the back problem on Wednesday morning during practice on a difficult jump. Mishin suggested, in un-PC fashion, that the only competition Plushenko can enter in the future is the Paralympic Games. The skater confirmed he was surely done with amateur, Olympic-style skating and would hit the show circuit. “God is saying, ‘Enough skating, Evgeny,'” Plushenko said.” http://www.healthylivingmagazine.us/Articles/408/ “I didn’t feel my legs after the second triple axel [in warm up], and almost cried when I had to withdraw,” said Evgeni Pluschenko after he approached judges’ panel during warm up right before the individual competition. Evgeni said that after falling at quad-triple combination at training yesterday he was unable to do jumps during today’s morning practice. “I tried and tried but I couldn’t, it was too much pain,” he said. “I tried again during the warmup, but it was too much pain.” “”Unfortunately I had no choice. Used four painkillers yet they didn’t help. But I still went to the end, tried my hardest, and went to the warm ups. Hoped that something magical would happen. It did happen in the team competitions, and I’m very happy about it. But now for now I need to rest, recover, and continue my figure skating career as businessman or showman. Very sorry to my fans, but I want to stay a healthy man. Walk and move normally, because life doesn’t stop here.” said Plushenko” 1623608_604452982982512_1954410808_n1622636_604452892982521_1962688055_n1000961_604452726315871_224618613_n1235211_604452479649229_1010681437_n Captura de Tela 2014-02-14 às 00.55.28 And now my selection of Plushenko videos🙂 But my favorite video of his: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=15UjaPyaccw&list=PLB243B80EAC990A13&feature=share Interview (2010 – about his comeback from retirement): Life story: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cB2PDzouzSY

Categorias: Sports | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comentários

Navegação de Posts

3 opiniões sobre “My Plush post

  1. I saw that you liked my posting about Plushenko so I thought I’d come to your blog and read what you had to say about him.
    Speaking on Evan Lysachek, I still feel a little biased in his direction because he comes from my country. Maybe I should watch his and Plushenko’s short programs as well before being fully committed to my opinion that he still deserved the gold.
    But you’re absolutely right. With Evan, this was kind of a one-time thing. As a figure skating fan, I didn’t know who he was until the Olympics and after that, he just appeared (and did pretty well) on “Dancing with the Stars.” But with Plushenko, his legacy in the sport will go on forever because he’s not just a one-time champion. And he’s just spectacular at what he’s done as an athlete and it’s a shame he went out like this, but he’ll easily be better remembered with the many highlights his career has. Which I plan on getting acquainted with over the next couple days😛

Deixe uma resposta

Crie um website ou blog gratuito no WordPress.com.

Kate Gale: A Mind Never Dormant

The life of a writer/editor

Biblioteca Florestan

Faculdade de Filosofia, Letras e Ciências Humanas - USP

Photography Art Plus

Photography, Animals, Flowers, Nature, Sky

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

marioprata.net

Site oficial do escritor Mario Prata

Sabiscuit's Catalog

I can't eat biscuits, but I have a better idea ...

Eric Schlehlein, Author/Freelance writer

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Through Open Lens

Home of Lukas Kondraciuk Photography

OldPlaidCamper

The adventures of an almost outdoorsman...

PROVERBIA

"Crítica Social, Lírica y Narrativa"

The top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

The top 10 of just about anything everything, from cakes to cats and dogs to caravans. Always a laugh, always worth seeing.

Authors, Artists, Geeks, Husbands

DaniellaJoe's Blog

crochet is my favorite fiber art and my goal is to become a real artist...

Blog do Kaizen: Seu espaço de saúde e bem estar

Opinião Central

Opinião Central - seu Blog de Arte, Filosofia e Cultura Pop

Espaço Pura Luz

Portal de Conhecimento

Canal Meditação

Ensinamentos sobre meditação e espiritualidade.

Espaço Virya

Atividades físicas e psicofísicas

Matheus de Souza

Escritor, Empreendedor e Growth Hacker

CorpoInConsciência

consciência corporal corpo inconsciência integração equilíbrio resistência alongamento respiração alimentação consciência

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

For the pleasure of Govinda

Art and craft for the soul

In punta di piedi

Entra in punta di piedi e spia nel buco della serratura

Daily Rock Report

Because you like it hard and Loud.

Pa-Kua Minas Gerais

Escola destinada ao ensino de práticas orientais

Ambiente Consultoria

Consultor em feng shui

In the Dark

A blog about the Universe, and all that surrounds it

Humor de Mulher!

Um pouco do que gosto, sinto e penso!

Candilejas

Fotoblogueando desde Panamá

Attenti al Lupo

www.attentiallupo2012.com

Lusty Writer

Explore the fun side of the world.

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

We. See Hope

'Expect With Confidence. Never Give Up Hope. It's Just The Beginning'

Aurora

...porque me falta espaço!

Devine Decorating Results for Your Interior

Interior design ideas, tips & tricks, plus before & after images

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Spirituality Exploration Today

Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

Não Sou Exposição

Questionamentos sobre imagem corporal, amor próprio, saúde e comida.

